Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

My Letters and Sounds Phonics Practice Pupil Book 8

Availability: In stock


Suitable for: Key Stage 1 level for ages 5 to 6

Pages: 48

Product description for teachers and tutors

Schofield & Sims My Letters and Sounds is a comprehensive programme for teaching systematic synthetic phonics.

The My Letters and Sounds Phonics Practice Pupil Books can be used in conjunction with the My Letters and Sounds Teacher’s Handbooks to help support and embed learning. Designed for use at home or at school, they provide practice in the key phonic skills of grapheme recognition and recall, blending to read and segmenting to spell, and build children’s confidence in reading and writing captions and sentences.

Phonics Practice Pupil Book 8 reinforces content from Phase Five, Term 3 of My Letters and Sounds. In this book, your child will learn more alternative graphemes for known sounds. For example, children learn that the /n/ sound can be made by the grapheme ‘kn’ as well as the grapheme ‘n’ which they learnt in Reception. The main focus is on reading words with the newly learned graphemes, but this will also support the development of children’s spelling later. By the end of the book, children will have learnt all of the grapheme-phoneme correspondences (GPCs) in Phase Five.

With a page or double-page spread for every new learning point in My Letters and Sounds, the book provides highly targeted practice and integrated revision of recently learnt GPCs and tricky words.

Each book provides:

  • targeted practice of each new learning point from My Letters and Sounds
  • integrated revision of previous learning
  • enjoyable, age-appropriate activities
  • a helpful glossary of key phonic terms.

Detailed information on when new phonics content and skills is taught in My Letters and Sounds Phases Two to Five can be found in the My Letters and Sounds Progression Chart.

Dimensions: 21 x 0.3 x 29.7 cm

Quantity :